Shop by Brand

You've Selected:

FAQs

What are Gluten Free snacks?

Gluten free describes products that are produced in such a way as to have no Gluten in them. Simplistically Gluten is the sticky substance in dough that holds it together while the dough is kneaded, rising and finally baked, and more specifically a mixture of proteins found in some cereal grains, especially wheat. Persons diagnosed with celiac disease (an allergy to glutens) should eat products that are free of the chemical, including foods made with or containing wheat, rye, barley and oats. Snack Warehouse offers many Gluten Free Snacks to help you enjoy snacking and stick to your gluten free diet.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein that is found in barley, wheat, rye as well as some other types of grains. It is fond in most cereals and breads. A person with celiac disease should not eat most grain, pasta, cereal, and many processed foods However, not all foods from the grain family contain gluten.

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease is a digestive disease damaging the inner surface of the small intestine. People with celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten resulting in the inability to absorb certain nutrients from various foods.

How do you get celiac disease?

Symptoms vary from person to person, but some of the most common symptoms are weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps, or vitamin and mineral deficiencies.

What are the symptoms of celiac disease?

Celiac disease is genetically determined. If you or a family member have the gene, it is possible that you could get the disease at some point in your life. Many people with this disease don’t even know they have it. Sometimes the disease is triggered after surgery, pregnancy, childbirth, viral infection, or severe emotional stress.

Is celiac disease treatable?

After consulting with a doctor the only treatment for celiac disease is a gluten free diet. A dietitian can be very helpful in creating a gluten free diet plan. Most likely, following this diet will stop symptoms and even heal the damage that was done to the small intestines. Improvement can begin almost immediately.

Should I consult a doctor before beginning a gluten free diet?

Yes, if you think you may have celiac disease you should speak with your doctor for an official diagnosis. If you begin a gluten free diet before consulting with a doctor, it could be more difficult for your doctor to make a diagnosis if you've begun the diet before being tested. Your doctor might suggest speaking with a dietitian on a gluten-free diet plan that fits your lifestyle.

Grains that should be avoided if you have gluten intolerance:

Wheat
Barley
Rye
Farina
Graham flour
Semolina
Durham
Bulgur
Kamut
Kasha
Matzo meal
Spelt (a form of wheat)
Triticale

Some acceptable grains for a gluten free diet:

Rice
Potato
Corn
Pure, uncontaminated oats
Quinoa
Tapioca
Buckwheat
Yam
Teff
Amaranth
Arrowroot flour
Gelatin
Xanthan gum
Guar gum
Sorghum

Acceptable foods for a gluten free diet:

Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
Most dairy products
Fruits
Vegetables
Rice
Potatoes
Gluten free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato)
Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits

Does vinegar contain gluten?

Distilled white vinegar does not contain gluten, but malt vinegar does contain gluten.

Is gluten only found in food?

No, gluten can be found in everyday products such as medicines, vitamins, lip balms and even play dough.

Can gluten be absorbed through the skin?

Gluten cannot be absorbed through the skin, but you should be careful using any products that could accidentally get into your mouth such as lip products, shampoos, hand lotion, hair spray or play dough. Additionally, it is best to avoid gluten containing toothpaste and mouthwash.

Is wheat free the same as gluten free?

No, just because a product is wheat free does not mean it is gluten free. Not only is gluten found in wheat, but it is also found in popular ingredients such as rye, barley and oats. That said, wheat free does not mean gluten free.

What are Wheat Free snacks?

Wheat free defines products produced without wheat or wheat flour. It is not the same as Gluten free because gluten free refers to products produced without gluten, which is not only found in wheat but also rye, barley and other oats. Persons who have IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) with a wheat trigger may benefit from following a whet free diet. Click to see the Wheat Free Snacks we have at Snack Warehouse.

What is a wheat allergy?

If you have a wheat allergy, your immune system has likely developed a specific antibody to a wheat protein. A wheat allergy can result in a wide range of symptoms including difficulty breathing, nausea, tiredness, bloating and hives.

How is a wheat allergy treated?

The best treatment is to avoid wheat. Medications may be necessary to manage an allergic reaction if you accidentally eat wheat.

If you have a wheat allergy, the following ingredients should be avoided:

All-purpose flour
Bleached flour
Bran
Bread crumbs
Breakfast cereals (various types)
Bulgar
Cornstarch
Couscous
Duram wheat
Enriched flour
Farina
Gelatinized starch (or pre-gelatinized)
Gluten
Graham flour
Hard duram flour
High gluten flour
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
Kamut
Miller’s bran
Modified food starch
Modified starch
MSG (monosodium glutamate)
Protein
Semolina
Spelt
Vegetable gum or starch
Vital gluten
Wheat bran, flour, germ, gluten, starch
Whole wheat or whole wheat flour

What are Kosher snacks?

Look for the Kosher logo to the left when you need foods that are produced following the Jewish dietary laws, (called kashrut, which comes from the Hebrew word for "fit" or "proper"). Be aware however that foods labeled “Jewish” do not necessarily mean they are kosher. Always look for the Kosher logo when shopping for snacks, and to be safe, we offer a number of Kosher Snacks at Snack Warehouse.

What are Vegan snacks?

Vegan snacks are produced without meat, eggs, dairy products or any other animal-derived ingredients. Because of this they also are a healthy choice for those who need to avoid dairy products in their diets. Click here to see our Vegan Approved Snacks.

What are Organic snacks?

Organic snacks are are grown without the use of pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, sewage sludge, genetically modified organisms, or ionizing radiation. Animals that produce meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products do not take antibiotics or growth hormones and are generally fed a healthy diet. Click here to see our Organic Approved Snacks.

What are Whole Grain snacks?

Whole Grain snacks are made from whole kernels of grain, that is both the inside part of the grain and the outer covering. They are better sources of fiber and contain other important nutrients, such as selenium, potassium and magnesium. Because of the this they are digested slower thus making you feel full for longer periods of time. Click here to see our Whole Grain Approved Snacks.

What are All-Natural snacks?

All-Natural snacks are foods that are minimally processed. Natural foods do not include ingredients such as refined sugars, refined flours, milled grains, hydrogenated oils, sweeteners, food colors, or flavorings. Click here to see our All-Natural Approved Snacks.

What is the shelf life of your dried fruits?

Most of our dried fruits have at least a three month shelf life, with some lasting as long as 6 months. This means you can buy your snacks in bulk, and not have to worry about eating them all in the first month! Just remember to store them in a cool dry place, and once you’ve opened a bag, to keep them sealed with the zip fresh seal or a back clip, and eat them within a few days to enjoy maximum freshness and flavor.